COUNCIL

At the Annual meeting of the Council on Friday, 22 May 2015 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

Present: Councillors E. Cargill, S. Baker, M. Bradshaw, J. Bradshaw, D. Cargill, Cassidy, Cole, Dennett, Edge, C. Gerrard, J. Gerrard, Gilligan, P. Hignett,

- R. Hignett, S. Hill, V. Hill, Horabin, Jones, M. Lloyd Jones, P. Lloyd Jones,
- C. Loftus, K. Loftus, Logan, A. Lowe, J. Lowe, MacManus, McDermott,
- A. McInerney, T. McInerney, Nelson, Nolan, Osborne, Parker, Philbin, Polhill,
- C. Plumpton Walsh, N. Plumpton Walsh, Joe Roberts, June Roberts, Rowe, Sinnott, G. Stockton, Wainwright, Wall, Wallace, Wharton, Woolfall, Wright and Zygadllo

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Fry, Harris, Howard, Lea, Morley, J. Stockton and Thompson

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: M. Reaney, A. Scott, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, D. Parr and T. Coffey

Also in attendance: Thirty invited guests and members of the public

Action

COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by Councillor Cole and seconded by Councillor Peter Lloyd Jones-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Ellen Cargill be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Moved by Councillor Jones and seconded by Councillor Tom McInerney –

RESOLVED: That Councillor Ged Philbin be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR ELLEN CARGILL IN THE CHAIR

COU2 COUNCIL MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of Council held on 15 April 2015, having been circulated, were taken as read and

signed as a correct record.

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting be confirmed and adopted.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor made the following announcements:-

- 1) That the Charities she would support during her term of office would be:-
 - Victoria Music Ltd;
 - The HCPT- The Pilgrimage Trust, Widnes; and
 - Widnes Fellowship Centre.
- 2) The Mayor's Chaplain for 2015/16 would be Father Peter Wright.

COU4 BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION RESULTS 7 MAY 2015

Details of the Borough Council elections held on 7 May 2015 were submitted for information.

The Mayor congratulated all returning Members and welcomed newly- elected Councillor Charlotte Gerrard to the Council.

RESOLVED: That the election results be noted.

COU5 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) 19 MAY 2015

The following recommendations of the Executive Board (Selection Committee) were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU6 DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL 2015/16

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Wharton be appointed as Deputy Leader for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

COU7 BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEALS PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2015/16:

Health & Wellbeing Board

Councillors Polhill, Philbin, Woolfall and Wright.

Corporate Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), A Lowe (Vice Chair,) Dennett, C.Gerrard, C.Loftus, A McInerney, Osborne, N.Plumpton Walsh, Joe Roberts, Rowe and Wainwright.

Health Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors J. Lowe (Chairman), S Hill (Vice Chair), Baker, Dennett, C.Gerrard, Horabin, M. Lloyd Jones, Osborne, C.Plumpton Walsh, Sinnott and Wallace.

Environment and Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Woolfall (Chairman), Fry (Vice Chair), P Hignett, V.Hill, C.Loftus, MacManus, Morley, Sinnott, G.Stockton, Wall and Zygadllo.

Employment, Learning, Skills and Community Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Edge (Chairman), MacManus (Vice Chair), Baker, Cassidy, Howard, P.Lloyd Jones, Logan, Parker, C.Plumpton Walsh, Joe Roberts and Rowe.

Children, Young People and Families Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Logan (Vice Chairman), Cassidy, P.Hignett, Horabin, K.Loftus, A.McInerney, June Roberts, J Stockton, Wall and Woolfall.

Safer Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Thompson (Chairman), Lea (Vice Chair), M.Bradshaw, Edge, J.Gerrard, Gilligan, V.Hill, M Lloyd Jones, Nolan, Sinnott and Zygadllo.

Development Control Committee (13)

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chairman), J.Bradshaw, Cole, R.Hignett, S.Hill, C.Plumpton Walsh, June Roberts, J.Stockton, Thompson, Wainwright, Woolfall, and Zygadllo.

Business Efficiency Board (11)

Councillors Joe Roberts (Chairman), M.Lloyd Jones (Vice Chair), J.Bradsahw, Cole, Fry, Lea, A.Lowe, MacManus, McDermott, N.Plumpton Walsh, and J.Stockton.

Standards Committee (9)

Councillors P.Lloyd Jones (Chairman), M.Bradshaw, Cassidy, Cole, J.Lowe, McDermott, T.McInerney, Parker

and Wainwright.

Appeals Panel (20)

Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), A. McInerney (Vice Chairman), Baker, M.Bradshaw, Edge, C.Gerrard, J.Gerrard, Gilligan, S.Hill, V.Hill, Howard, P.Lloyd Jones, K.Loftus, J Lowe, Morley, Parker, N.Plumpton Walsh, June Roberts, G.Stockton and Wallace.

Regulatory Committee (11)

Councillors K Loftus (Chairman), Wallace (Vice-Chairman), Fry, P.Hignett, Howard, Lea, A. Lowe, McDermott, Nelson, G.Stockton and Wall.

Local Development Framework Working Party (15)

Councillors R.Hignett (Chairman), J.Bradshaw, Cole, Gerrard, MacManus, Morley, Nolan, Parker, C Plumpton Walsh, Roberts, G.Stockton, Thompson, Wainwright, Woolfall and Zygadllo.

Mayoral Committee (5)

The incumbent Mayor (Councillor E Cargill) and Councillors Gilligan, R.Hignett, Morley, and Wright.

Appointments Committee (6)

Councillors Polhill, and Wharton (plus relevant PPB Chairs x 2) and Opposition Group Leaders (Rowe and J.Bradshaw).

COU8 APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CO-ORDINATOR

RESOLVED: That Councillor Tony McDermott be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

COU9 APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTEE TO THE HEALTH POLICY AND PERFORMANCE BOARD

RESOLVED: That the appointment of Mr Tom Baker as the Healthwatch Halton non-voting Co-optee to the Health Policy and Performance Board for the Municipal Year 2015/16, be confirmed.

COU10 APPOINTMENT OF PARISH COUNCIL CO-OPTEES TO THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

RESOLVED: That the appointment of Reverend David Felix and Mr Stephen Cluff as non-voting Parish Council Co-optees to the Standards Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16, be confirmed.

COU11 APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

The Council considered a report of the Strategic Director, Policy and Resources, regarding the appointment of Members to serve on various outside bodies. A document was tabled showing the recommendations put forward.

RESOLVED: That representatives be appointed to outside bodies in accordance with the tabled report.

COU12 EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS

The Leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following Portfolio holders for the Municipal Year 2015/16:

Leader's – Councillor Polhill
Children, Young People and Families – Councillor Philbin
Health and Wellbeing – Councillor Wright
Transportation – Councillor Tom McInerney
Community Safety – Councillor Dave Cargill
Economic Development – Councillor Jones
Resources – Councillor Wharton
Environmental Services – Councillor Nelson
Community and Sport – Councillor Harris
Physical Environment – Councillor Ron Hignett

RESOLVED: That the Portfolios be noted.

COU13 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced her intention to attend a Civic Service at Our Lady's Catholic Church, Lapwing Grove, Palacefields, Runcorn, WA7 2TP on Sunday 28 June 2015 starting at 11.am.

Meeting ended at 7.15 p.m.